Fia Cottage

Experience Shetland in comfort

Tel: 01595 820 341
Mob: 07918 105 531

History

Fia Cottage has a long and interesting history since it was built in 1898, changing hands multiple times before we purchased it in March 2006

The cottage was originally built as a shop / post office to serve the local community of Quendale.  A telephone was installed around the early 1940s, one of the few phones in the area at the time.  On 30th March 1942, during World War II, the phone was used to alert RAF Sumburgh that a bomber had been found crashed on nearby Fitful Head

In 1968 the property was converted into a house and had a back porch added.  Since then there has been some minor work done, but the building remained largely unchanged until we bought it in 2007.  This gives you an idea of the scale of our renovation project, which has been our labour of love for the past 8 years

We have included some before and after photos of Fia Cottage when it was called Harpslyn

Some of the inside shots are not so easily compared due to the change in room layout and we don’t have the old photos to show this.  The kitchen sink area is now where the original old bathroom was and the single downstairs bedroom has now become the rest of the kitchen dining area

The old sitting room has now become the first part of the lounge area and around the corner past the fireplace, the new seating area was once the old kitchenette with room divided.  The old pantry cupboard has become the alcove with the alcove with table lamp